

AGM OF THE ALL PARTY PARLIAMENTARY GROUP ON CYBER SECURITY

Held on the 10[™] December 2018 at 5.15 p.m., Committee Room 7, Houses of Parliament

1) Present:

Vicky Ford MP

James Morris MP

The Viscount Waverley

The Rt Hon. the Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom

The Baroness Neville-Rolfe

The Lord Mackenzie of FramwellgateProfessor

Keith Mayes, Head of Information Security Group (ISG), Royal Holloway College and APPG Secretariat

Andrew Henderson, Advisor, ISG and APPG Secretariat

Colin Dobson, Chief of Staff to The Lord Mackenzie of Framwellgate

Jordan Meade, Office of Lord Waverley

2) Apologies:

The Rt Hon. George Howarth MP

Bob Seely MP

Marion Fellows MP

The Rt Hon. Richard Benyon MP

The Rt Hon. the Baroness Neville-Jones

The Rt Hon. the Lord West of Spithead

The Lord Alderdice

3) Chair's Report

The first of three meetings was in February when the Rt Hon Ben Wallace, Minister of State for Security at the Home Office spoke on "Take 5 and the Cyber Aware campaign". We then had two American-themed meetings. In April we had the CIO of the US Dept of Energy, Max Everett, come to talk to us about the challenges that he faces in protecting the US energy market. In June we had an in camera session with the Deputy Director of the National Security Agency, George Barnes, and Eric Welling, Deputy Assistant Director of the FBI to talk about the cyber special relationship with the UK alongside Robert Hannigan, former Director of GCHQ and attendees from the National Cyber Security Centre.

We also had two dinners. One with ISACA in April and another in June for George Barnes to continue the discussion in a more informal way.

The APPG continues to be supported by the Information Security Group from Royal Holloway for which I would like to thank Prof Keith Mayes and Andrew Henderson.

4) Election of officers

James Morris was unanimously elected as Chair. Proposed by Lord Mackenzie and seconded by Lord Arbuthnot

Lord Arbuthnot proposed the adoption of all those nominated as Vice-Chairs. This was unanimously approved by the meeting.

5) Planning for 2019

The Secretariat to meet with James Morris MP to discuss topics for 2019.

Meeting closed at 5.25 p.m.